Useful Knowledge about Madrid!

I am currently sat in a cafe, checking my emails and surfing the web with a cup of coffee on a Monday Evening. I look outside and I can’t believe my luck. I NOW LIVE IN MADRID!! How lucky am I? I should be pretty quick as my battery is dying, is it cheeky for me to plug it into the power point? Hmm I might try it! (I wonder how I say “can I plug this in” in Spanish?

Anyway let me tell you a little about my almost two weeks of being here! I should start with what I have discovered that I never knew about Madrid. Well my first thing is that it is so difficult to fresh milk here!!! Yes, I was outraged when I found this out. I was all up for getting back on the plane, until it was pointed out to me that I am in the centre of a big country with not many grassy areas for cows to graze and its very warm. I will forgive Madrid this time 😉 UHT milk takes its getting used to. It is quite an acquired taste I assure you. Tastes good in coffee though!

The second thing is that It is illegal to drink on the streets of Madrid even though you see lots of people doing it! I know this through first hand experience and luckily I managed to escape, however some of the people I was with weren’t so lucky! If you are caught they will take some form of identity and give you a ticket. Now they only process 20% of these tickets, however if you are one of the unlucky ones, for your first offense they make you sit in a 3 hour lecture about why you should not drink on the streets. If you are caught a second time then its a €300 fine… very steep! Not sure that it is worth it! However you could be lucky and you might never get caught! Just keep this in mind if you choose to partake in a little ‘Botellon’ as the Spanish call it.

The third thing is that the huge fee you have to pay if you choose to be self employed in Spain. Now you might wonder why you would want to do this. Well If you move over to be an English Teacher, many companies will ask you to register as self employed. This saves the company money as they don’t have to pay your national security, plus if they can’t get you work then they don’t have to pay for your time when you are not working. However you still have to pay your social security even if you don’t have work. Its a little catch 22 really. Anyway the fee is €183 if you are under 30 and €249 if you are over 30 years old. On top of this you have to pay 15% tax which isn’t bad but combined it is a huge chunk of your wage. I know this because I have been employed by a teaching school but I can only work for them as self employed. I only found out about the fee once I got out here…Sneaky, sneaky! However If you are reading this and are a native English speaker, don’t be put off as there are many schools and colleges that will employ you and give you a contract so that you only pay 15 %

Its still warm and light outside, I might go for a walk before food! I have to be careful now with money as I have to last until next month to get paid again! Lots of walks I think. I don’t think I will be doing the cheap option of drinking outside anytime soon!

Adios!

5 Comments

Filed under Madrid

5 responses to “Useful Knowledge about Madrid!

  1. TKW

    You can find fresh milk in Carrefour (look in the refrigerated sections near the dairy). It is around 1.60 euro for 1.5 liters. Lauki is the brand (I think that is how you spell it). I have lived here now for about a year and have now grown accustomed to the boxed kind. Welcome to Madrid. You will love it here. I know I do…

  2. jenniferw24

    Ahhh, thank you for your comment. I will be sure to check to out!!! 🙂

  3. Victor

    You can plug your computer in many cafés (just ask: ¿Puedo enchufar el ordenador?)hahahah Most of times they will allow you.

    • Jennifer Wilkinson

      Thank you, I will use that next time. Last time I just looked at my charger and the plug socket and kinda motioned to it and the nice man nodded his head. 🙂

  4. Anne Simpson

    very good information which I have passed on to my daughter. She is looking to take up a primary teaching position in the summer in Madrid. She is doing her probation year here in Glasgow but at the end of it all there are absolutely no jobs here so she has to look further afield. She loves Spain and has applied for several jobs in different areas. She had an interview the other day and looking likely she will get posted to their new school in Madrid. I have been reading through your blogs and found them very helpful and interesting.
    When she finds out more could we contact you for some advice on looking at areas for renting apartments for her and her 7 yr old son.
    Thanks again for the useful info.

Leave a Reply

