What to do on a cold Saturday Afternoon in Madrid?

On Saturday Morning I woke up late as I didn’t have class. The flat was cold as the heating is broken (just my luck). So I sat on the sofa wrapped up in a duvet, talking with some of my dear friends online and contemplating on what I should do with the rest of my day.

I decided on a day of culture. Madrid is a wonderful place to spend an afternoon (or in-fact a whole day) wondering around art galleries plus they have times when they are free to enter!! YES FREE, my favourite price! So this is what I did.

First I went to the Reina Sofia which is FREE all day on a Saturday. I like the museum because it houses one of the most amazing paintings I have ever seen in real life. The Guernica by Picasso. Now I have seen this piece of art on post cards, in books, as prints in peoples homes and never really appreciated it as much as when I saw it in real life. It is so amazing and nothing quite prepares you for the size and the greatness of this piece. I once read in a comic a fictional quote made up by the writer of the comic it went like this. (yes I admit it, I am a geek and I read comics)

Un aleman le dice a Picasso, delante del Guernica:

Usted Hizo esto?
-No, fue usted.

After reading this very clever and thought provoking quote and seeing the Guernica it just made me think about what the war must have been like to be in the middle of, and how even now, we carry on fighting and destroying peoples lives. It’s a really upsetting thought and I wish we could learn from the past. The painting brings out so much emotion, plus, every time you look at it, you discover something new. If you have never seen it, please, please, please take time out to visit it. No matter how many times I have see it, it never fails to amaze me.

Anyway I never really spend all day in this museum, even though you could and if you like modern art I am sure you will. This museum reminds me of the Tate Modern in London. Its a mixture of amazing pieces and pieces I don’t really understand, but thats not to say they aren’t great. This museum has also got a lovely garden which in summer you can go hang out in with friends, a see through lift that never fails to leave my heart in my mouth and the building its self is an amazing piece of arcitecture which if you stand at the top of you can see the view of Madrid for miles.

The next stop was the Prado. Which between the hours of 6-7:30pm on the days Thursday to Saturday, it is FREEEE! You might have to fight in a queue for a while, but it soon moves and is very worth it!! This Museum is one of my favourites. It is beautifully laid out. The exhibitions are truly breath taking and it is a fantastic place for people watching and sketching. The paintings and statues are very fine art and very old but are amazing. I just discovered a love for Goya. I never really looked properly at his work and it’s another artist you don’t really appreciate it until you see their work in real life. His use of colour is just spectacular.

Anyway, this blog post ended up longer than I had expected, sorry for that. I will leave you with some phones of my day. Hope I have inspired you to go check out some amazing pieces of art. It would be a great shame to visit Madrid and not check these out.

Leave a comment

Filed under 1

Leave a Reply

